• High quality facility with a staff that goes above and beyond. We would like to take the time to thank Dr Nina Waldron and the entire emergency staff for their thoughtfulness and caring during the time they spent with Jim and I along with our dog Merope. Even though we lost our little girl that evening without this facility there would have been so much more suffering not only for Merope but for us. I would highly recommend this facility, not only are they specialist with extraordinary hearts but are special individuals one and all. Thanks so much for the card, you are all a true blessing!

    Julie & James D.   /   July 31, 2018

  • YOU ARE THE BEST!!!! Such an amazingly loving and caring veterinarian family! This was our first time here, the Dr was extremely knowledgeable for our little Guinea pig Oreo. My daughter had to experience her first loss of a pet and we felt so blessed to have found BVS and were able to go through this with this amazing staff! You could see and feel the heart of ever staff member as they helped us through doing what was best for Oreo. They went above and beyond when we received a card in the mail to let us know how sorry they were for out loss. This was not just a simple little note, the entire card was filled up with sincere and heart felt message from each staff member. It was one of the most sincerest and touching gestures I have ever received. We cant thank you enough for everything you have done for family!!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!

    Bethany W.   /   June 5, 2018

  • Wonderful staff. A great facility with great staff members and treatment.

    Melanie B.   /   April 26, 2018

  • Exceptional Care The entire staff was the most caring, kind and compassionate people during one of the most difficult times of my life. They sensed the love I had for my dog and just how difficult my decision was and they made it as easy as possible for me. Thank you so much for your kindness and respect. It meant a lot.

    Melissa C.   /   April 26, 2018

  • Very Caring and Knowledgeable Staff Bluegrass was very kind and supportive of me and the love of my life "Onka Belle" a 9 year old Pit Bull Cross who was my loyal and trusty sweet companion for 8 of those 9 years. Onka had cancer and they did all they could for her and me. She is now my guardian angel ... Thank you Bluegrass for helping both she and I - thank you for caring.

    Kimberly D.   /   April 26, 2018

  • Excellent care!

    Penny G.   /   April 24, 2018

  • Job well done The staff was very friendly and understanding. They provided great car for our fur baby in her time of need. They were very delicate with us as well..understanding that we were scared and worried. Our pup is doing much better now. Thank you for all you do

    Amber B.   /   April 24, 2018

  • The to young ladies was great very good job Thank you all

    Steven W.   /   April 19, 2018

  • I believe they genuinely cared for my little pup while visiting with them The only issue with Denali stay was that I waited for a very long time with the initial visit and sat in the room too long without someone coming in and checking. Whether the Dr. was busy or not, someone should have checked in. That would be my only complaint.

    Michelle R.   /   April 19, 2018

  • Took great care of my puppy Staff was very good. Made sure my puppy was taken care of.

    Tracey D.   /   April 19, 2018

  • Excellent service from a caring staff We were on the road from Kentucky back to Minnesota when our dog became seriously ill and required surgery. We were referred from a Middlesboro vet and were seen immediately. The need for surgery and the cost were explained to us very clearly and she had surgery that very day. The staff kept in touch with us on a daily basis, and when we were able to pick up our dog, we even got a refund as she did not require as many days as been expected. The staff continued to check with us on our dog's progress while we were on the road back home. I highly recommend this veterinary service.

    Kim O.   /   April 18, 2018

  • Efficient and high quality I was impressed with the service. Coming in at a weird hour and as a new customer I was unsure how the visit would go but I was very pleased. They had a great deal of respect for my dog and my time.

    Holly M.   /   March 19, 2018

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hospital. Your feedback enables us to evaluate our work. Thank you for entrusting us with the care of your precious pet.

  • High quality Na

    Shane H.   /   March 11, 2018

  • We weren’t really sure what was wrong with our Great Dane when our primary vet sent us to BVS. The team there worked around the clock to get answers to why his health was deteriorating so quickly. Everyone was really nice and even when we had to take him to UT to see a neurosurgeon they still called to check in on him. I would recommend BVS to anyone who’s pet is need of help.

    Regina C.   /   March 11, 2018

  • Very thorough I brought my dog in for a diagnosis of lameness, the emergency vet who saw her was very thorough in her exam, even seeking another opinion from her colleagues. Though it was not the outcome I had hoped for, I did get the answer I sought.

    Pam S.   /   March 11, 2018

  • Compassionate and highly skilled Caregivers gave high quality care. Everything was fully explained and I never felt rushed. They were there for me when I needed them. Expensive though.

    Rosalie S.   /   March 11, 2018

  • Very satisfied with care received.

    Diane C.   /   March 9, 2018

  • Great staff.... and more! While I had an appt for a Friday, I arrived with my dog on Thursday evening because of his increasing lethargy. Without waiting, we were greeted, a brief history taken and was immediately taken back for evaluation. Within 10-15 mins, I was taken to a room and soon, Dr. Bowen met with me to discuss findings. She was thorough in explaining what she thought needed to be done and answered any questions I had. Then, a tech discussed an itemized statement with me and took my payment. They encouraged me to call at any time for an update, etc. Since I live an hour away, I called the next morning and Dr. Pratt returned my call in a timely fashion. After more testing was done, she called again, discussed the diagnosis, along with treatment plan and prognosis. I was able to bring him home later that day and Dr. Pratt was thorough in explaining discharge information, medications, etc. and patiently answered my questions. This was my first experience with Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists and if needed, I will return again!

    Janet S.   /   March 7, 2018

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hospital. We greatly appreciate the first-hand explanation of how our hospital and services run. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for your confidence in our care!

  • Top Quality Care, Personable Experience This place is legitimately the best of the best. The quality of care that you receive from the entire staff is top notch. My pet had to stay overnight twice and I was updated at all hours and received calls/texts from the veterinary specialists. Would highly recommend!

    Ariel L.   /   March 7, 2018

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hospital and your experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback and business.

  • Due to our dog not being emergent we waited over 2 hours before a vet ever saw our dog. No one came in at all during this time to update us or let us know when someone might be with us. Our total visit time was close to 5 hours for a UTI.

    Christy B.   /   March 7, 2018

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hospital. We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your long wait and lack of communication updates. Our staff is trained to provide wait-time expectations and regular updates to clients, especially in exam rooms. We shared your review with our entire staff and have reminded them to be mindful and considerate of our client's time by providing reasonable wait-time expectations and communicating with clients about any delays in being seen. Again, we appreciate your review and business.

  • Compassion and quality care from all staff members I recently took my cat, Sammy, in for an echocardiogram to monitor his heart murmur. Everyone from the reception desk, I believe her name is Lauren, to the doctor were very welcoming and gave outstanding customer service. Dr. Antu Radhakrishnan is amazing! He explained in full detail options for treatment. He also informed me that check ups are at a discounted rate to help with follow up treatment. This is extremely helpful since vet bills can quickly add up. I have been to other specialist offices that did not offer a discounted rate and am thankful that BVS does. Definitely a place I trust with my fur babies!!

    Rhea W.   /   March 7, 2018

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hospital through a review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It helps us assess our performance.

  • "Very thorough and the Drs and staff were great" We know you all took the very best care of Daisy that you could. Her life was filled with so many people who loved and cared about her. Thank you again for helping us thru our sad time. I will recommend Blugrass Veterinary Specialists to anyone.

    Christy C.   /   March 4, 2018

  • Thankful for after hours emergency care ! I am so thankful for the compassionate and excellent care the vets at Bluegrass Vet gave my cat,Coal. He was quickly diagnosed and had to stay overnight.The vets over the course of 48 hours communicated with me by phone on his care and update me on his status which I really appreciated. They encouraged me to visit . I highly recommend the Hyperbaric oxygen therapy which made him recover quickly and he liked it .I also received a follow-up call after he came home checking on how he was doing. I am glad that that there is such a place for after our emergencies and such a compassionate and knowledgeable staff available .

    Rebecca D.   /   March 2, 2018

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hospital. We greatly appreciate your feedback. It truly helps us evaluate the care and service we provide.

  • They r so great and was awsome to casper

    Sabrine B.   /   March 1, 2018

  • Suann B.   /   March 1, 2018

  • Nice staff; Good Value My dog was sent there for 2 days. Staff updated me twice daily, seemed very nice

    Deana W.   /   March 1, 2018

  • Excellent!

    Steve C.   /   March 1, 2018

  • Excellent customer service!!!!! Customer service was far above any expectation I had! They even followed up to check on Coco later-don’t even get that from my regular vet!!

    Candy R.   /   March 1, 2018

  • Knowledgeable and courteous staff Staff is always helpful and courteous. Vets have immense knowledge. Facility has all the best equipment for treating my dog.

    Anita R.   /   February 28, 2018

  • Excellent Service, Great People!! My dog had a back injury and they treated her amazing, she had treatment in the hyperbaric chamber and they were very thorough and took excellent care of her! Highly recommend them!!

    Tracy U.   /   February 3, 2018

  • Excellent care My 16 yr old dog passed away sunday morning. The staff there saw to it that his remains were taken care in a very efficient manner. They were VERY good to me.

    Mary M.   /   February 3, 2018

  • Greatly trusted, prompt and affordable. Love this hospital!! I have taken several to this hospital for emergency and specialty care both with my small animal rescue and my personal pets. I have always felt welcome, confident in the care and even extensive care has always been affordable. Thank you for all you do!!

    Tammy N.   /   February 2, 2018

  • Everyone was so helpful and compassionate and caring; service was top rate; follow up was terrific. From the moment I called until I picked up Maya, everyone I dealt with at BVS was professional, kind and compassionate. They took the time to explain everything to me and to discuss the diagnosis and all my options with Maya's treatment and they're recommendations. And they were so kind when I called to check up on Maya, and I really appreciated the follow up call from the vet a day or two after I took Maya home. I felt like my pet was in the best hands and getting the best care possible, and couldn't be happier with my experience.

    Lori T.   /   January 22, 2018

  • Very professional, yet also very friendly Except for a minor issue with the credit card machine, which was not their fault, this was a excellent experience. Dr. Alford was absolutely excellent.

    Ken B.   /   January 20, 2018

  • Very professional in a calming way. Dr. Radhakrishnan gave us not so good news in a comforting manner. He gave different options for treatment, and scenarios of the different treatments and their effects. When I left, I told my husband Dr. Radhakrishnan had gained my complete trust. My fur baby is very special to me and trusting the doctor is a huge comfort. I would strongly recommend Dr. Radhakrishnan to anyone! He spent a lot of time with us....never did I feel he was rushed. His phone call after the rhinoscopy was very informative and helped in making some difficult decisions. The entire staff was wonderful. BVS is the place to go when you want expert advise and treatment of your fur babies.

    Jenny W.   /   January 19, 2018

  • Great staff very friendly and so helpful I went in with a brand new puppy that I just got earlier in the day over the weekend at night. I had 2 kids and a puppy all to handle they were very friendly very helpful and so nice. I was trying to wrangle everyone and do everything and they were so helpful to my situation. We were in and out so fast with all the things we needed to make sure our puppy was healthy and the knowledge of her dignoses. Thank you so much for the help!

    Kaitlyn B.   /   December 27, 2017

  • Efficient, knowledgable, kind and attentive. My older female poodle was randomly attacked on a neighborhood walk. My brother, a vet who no longer practices advised that I take Scarlett to BVS because of their reputation and expertise of specialists. Good advice - so glad we landed there.

    Polly M.   /   December 27, 2017

  • Concerned professionals available when your pet needs them the most. One of my cats started acting/looking really sick and in pain. It was after hours and I wasn't sure if she could wait until the next working day. Thankfully, Lexington has Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists + Animal Emergency. I called them and they said to bring her in. Luckily, it was nothing severe that was causing her actions. They made me feel good about my choice to see them. They let you know what the costs are; and in my case offered several treatment choices, with prices, so you can make an informed decision. I left them very relieved about my cat and her problem.

    Lauranne W.   /   December 20, 2017

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hospital. We greatly appreciate client feedback.

  • Very Professional We had to have our male dog "put to sleep" a few weeks ago and we were very thankful for the patience and understanding that the staff showed to us. They handled our situation with professionalism and were very informative, which allowed us to make the best decision regarding our dog.

    Clint J.   /   December 14, 2017

  • Very Empathetic and Caring During our Sad time We'd had our kitten for 5 months and he'd always been a ball of energy, but he was acting lethargic and trying to hide. The doctor did a blood test and gave us the unfortunate news that he likely had immune-mediated hemolytic anemia. They were up-front that he didn't have a good chance of making it, even if we hospitalized him and gave him blood transfusions. We took our baby home and he quickly deteriorated. By midnight, he couldn't even keep his mouth open and was crying in distress. We brought him in to have him put down. The night staff were extremely caring and gentle with everything. We were bawling our eyes out and they gave us as much time as we needed to say goodbye. They were very understanding and kind.

    Bronson O.   /   December 11, 2017

  • Bluegrass Vet took very good of my dog. I really felt that Gypsy was cared for. The vet kept us informed about the testing, the results were back very quickly. I would recommend this office to my friends and family. Thank you!

    Shirley S.   /   December 11, 2017

  • Staff was great price reasonable.

    Marsha W.   /   August 25, 2017

  • informative and helpful We visited very early in the morning and the staff was really good with my dog. They were cautious and informative. I would go back if I had another emergency.

    Carin V.   /   August 25, 2017

  • very caring and respectful staff Would use their services again if an emergency comes up

    Melanie A.   /   August 25, 2017

  • Pleased overall with attentiveness of staff. Would recommend Bluegrass to others Good pet care facility to have in the middle of the night in Lexington. I would return with another furry family members if medical services needed.

    David W.   /   August 25, 2017

  • Ferret emergency I visited BVS because I had an emergency with my ferret and my regular vet does not see clients after hours. Not every vet knows how to treat ferrets as they are very different from a cat or a dog. The vet and staff we saw were very professional and compassionate. They explained everything they were doing and were finding but their knowledge of ferrets was not what I would have liked. Unfortunately that is an issue with a lot of vets. I was concerned about a possible blockage and they were able do an xray and pretty much ruled that out. So that was worth the visit. As an aside, I have been to BVS before with a friend and her dog and was highly impressed with the level of care and compassion that was extended to her and her dog. So yes I give BVS high marks there. I would return to BVS if needed.

    Ann H.   /   August 25, 2017

  • Totally satisfied. Thoroughly pleased with this emergency visit. Our pet was quickly diagnosed and treated for an allergic reaction. Would definitely use Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists Animal Emergency again if needed.

    Pamela A.   /   July 24, 2017

  • Excellent facility, very clean and professional staff; I felt as though I was in a regular hospital setting I was extremely pleased with the level of care my pet cat received at this facility. I appreciated the call from the specialist the next day. Tests that were conducted were thorough and complete. Unfortunately my only concern was that no follow up call was made to check on the status of my pet the next day or the following. On a positive note I was able to ask a question by phone call that I made to BVS regarding behaviors I was observing in my cat. The staff member who took my call did check with the doctor on call to answer my question.

    Lisa S.   /   July 23, 2017

  • PROFESSIONAL AND COMPASSIONATE The veterinarians and staff are professional yet so personable and compassionate. I was so relieved that Dr. Radhakrishnan (he is AWESOME) was immediately able to figure out why our 11 year old miniature Schnauzer, "Ellie " had been so ill for about 10 days. We feared we were losing Ellie, but after Dr. R treated her she was able to gain her strength, appetite and spunky personality again. Thank you BVS!!!!!

    Tammy M.   /   July 13, 2017

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Dr. Radhakrishnan greatly appreciates your feedback! He cares very deeply for all of his patients and knowing that you were happy with his care makes his day!

  • Great place. My experience was completely awesome. The staff took very good care of my pet and updated me frequently. It is a very clean place and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Amy A.   /   July 12, 2017

  • Very Very thankful to the staff, doctors My little dog Cooper was sick. He is like our child. I was at a loss. I took him in and they didn't blink an eye. They tested and treated him. Very grateful to have a clinic such as this close

    Sue K.   /   July 11, 2017

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hospital. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

  • We brought our American Brittany in on an emergency visit, thinking he had a spinal or neck injury. After several treatments Dr. R and Dr. Alford diagnosed him with having Encephalitis on the brain. We together treated Max aggressively with treatments and medicines. Max put up a good fight but after trying everything that was possible, Max didn't respond to the medicines and treatments. The staff was very helpful during this difficult time and extended our time with Max for four to five months. They were very helpful at when it was time to start considering putting him to sleep and treated us and Max with respect and handled all the paperwork for us to have him cremated. Excellent pet hospital.

    Todd P.   /   July 8, 2017

  • Prolonging my pet's life with chemo versus quality of life. Excellent communication on a difficult topic, during a very generous consultation time-period.
    I feel I have gained a partner in my pets' futures - not become a revenue source for some faceless corporation.

    Sean M.   /   July 6, 2017

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    We diligently work to provide our clients and owners with the care and compassion that we would want to receive ourselves. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

  • Had to have my 19 year old cat put down--this office was so genuine and sincere and kind--thanks.

    Mary S.   /   July 5, 2017

  • Great value, great customer service Very nice staff. Show they care about your pet

    Judy T.   /   June 30, 2017

  • Job well done, quick and easy

    Lauren M.   /   April 26, 2017

  • Good experience. Available when needed on a late night Saturday. Staff was friendly and caring. Had good results with immediate feedback to our local vet for followup.

    Helen K.   /   April 23, 2017

  • Wonderful, compassionate staff I recently brought my cat into BVS and unfortunately had to put her to sleep. The staff were so compassionate and allowed me to spend as much time with Salem as I needed. I truly appreciate the sensitivity and caring that the entire staff showed us while we dealt with a most difficult time. Even when I went to pick up Salem's ashes they were very caring and again said they were sorry for our loss. I am also impressed and thankful for the care that My Pet Angel took in handling Salem's cremation.

    Donna A.   /   April 19, 2017

  • Great Staff. Very Professional & Caring. Cutting Edge Doctors, staff, and equipment. From the time we entered the door to the time we left they explained and gave options and never pressured us. It seems like this is more than a job to them, they really do love animals and it shows. Awesome place. They have various treatments and options for most situation. Open 24 hours & 24 hour care for all animals.

    K S.   /   March 15, 2017

  • I felt the staff sincerely cared about my pet and her well being. They were very attentive and answered all my questions. I would definitely use their services again if the need arises.

    Karen S.   /   March 6, 2017

  • High Quality Even though we have been there for the passing of our beloved furbabies. Your staff has made me feel cared about and very loving toward my dogs. Thank you for all that you do.

    Kelly G.   /   March 3, 2017

  • Wonderful weekend service You all were so compassionate and caring when it was time to have our beloved dog Buster put to sleep. Thank you for keeping weekend hours so we could help Buster go without pain when it was truly his time. Thank you for being there for us during such a difficult time.

    Heather C.   /   March 3, 2017

  • Quick, effect, caring and good They did a great job on Max

    Daniel C.   /   March 2, 2017

  • Friendly, caring staff. The vets are knowledgeable and care about their patients.

    Gayle W.   /   February 23, 2017

  • THE BEST CARE FOR YOUR FUR BABIES! Once again Jazzy needed the team at BVS during her illness. Their skills, knowledge and compassion has no bounds! It is a comfort knowing we can call and get questions answered OR we can go and they are waiting for her. Thanks so much.

    Deedra M.   /   February 18, 2017

  • staff was great, service was excellent, my pet was treated with the utmost importance and care. We were treated with respect. All are questions were answered to my satisfaction. I was impressed.

    David W.   /   February 12, 2017

  • Very professional n caring. Took great care of my Bella. My dog was vomiting and couldn't stop. Called and took her in at 930 on a Saturday night. The staff was very courteous and treated her symptoms thoroughly. Was better within a few minutes and recovered in a couple of days. BVS called to check on her progress daily. I highly recommend their services.

    Micky B.   /   February 9, 2017

  • Very professional. They kept us up to date frequently while working on our dog, explaining it in a way (at 2:00 am and knowing the state of mind my son and I were in) that we could understand and make the decision we had to make. Unfortunately our dog didn't make it. It all happened so fast, within minutes actually...we left extremely shocked and overwhelmed with emotions. The follow up to losing our dog was heartwhelming....we received a call at 10pm with the necropsy results from the Vet that worked on her. She could've waited until the following day to call but knew we were anxiously awaiting. The pet angel package was much more than I expected, very touching. Losing your pet is not anything we want to endure but BVS handled it very professionally and compassionately.

    Heather F.   /   February 9, 2017

  • They were great. Fixed my cat up so he could get back in the fight, which he loves. Took tiger in about midnight, they saw him pretty quickly. They gave me updates on his progress and I had coffee and tea and snacks and a shop cat to play with. They fixed up his chewed up leg and he was back in the fight a day later.

    Mark C.   /   February 8, 2017

  • Caring knowledgeable staff. Very impressed. My dog went in for an ultrasound. He has dilated cardiomyopathy. His meds to control were going to be very expensive but the vet knew of a compounding pharmacy in New Jersey that could do it for about 40% of the cost. They gave my boy hope to live a while longer.

    Sulena B.   /   February 8, 2017

  • Friendly and good service They were friendly and save my dog's life and I'm grateful for that . I would definitely take my dog there again

    David S.   /   February 8, 2017

  • Friendly and good service They were friendly and save my dog's life and I'm grateful for that . I would definitely take my dog there again

    David S.   /   February 8, 2017

  • Compassionate care for our dog and for us! Dr. Edwards and staff were wonderful to Ginger and to us as we made difficult end of life decisions for Ginger. We were well informed about treatment options, prognosis, and cost. I highly recommend BVS.

    Edward T.   /   February 7, 2017

  • Visiting from out of state, very good experience Very caring and knowledgeable staff with quick service for my 15 year old black lab which came down with peripheral vistibular illness (vertigo) and a bladder infection while we were visiting from out of state. Bluegress Vet was one of the few places open on a Sunday, and I feel blessed to have found them. Along with diagnosis and meds, they were able to give him a laser treatment for his pain. Good experience overall. Thankyou!

    Laura B.   /   January 27, 2017

  • caring, compassionate, and high quality=5 stars

    Phyllis S.   /   December 23, 2016

  • caring staff Had to go late one evening with our dog. Staff was caring and gave her the attention she needed.

    Karen B.   /   December 21, 2016

  • Great clinic and staff. Very please with the service and the treatment we received. Would recommend Dr. Antu to family and friends.

    Kim K.   /   December 21, 2016

  • Absolutely amazing! Since the moment I even called to tell them my dog had been hit by a truck, they were so accommodating. They called to give me updates, took such great care of him and after I took him home, they called to check on him and see how he's doing. Dr. Foley was so nice and gave great detail in how to help him once home. Also, i called her 15 times after that and she was happy to answer every single one of my questions and offer advice! Love BVS! Wouldn't choose anywhere else!

    Hayley T.   /   December 20, 2016

  • Great and caring service Receptionist and doctor were very friendly and caring to both me and my pet. Nicest vet I've ever dealt with

    Hermila A.   /   December 13, 2016

  • We were traveling when we noticed that our Shih Tzu was lethargic and moving very stiffly. We found the clinic online and stopped. We were seen quickly and the staff could not have been more caring. We continued home and took the dog to our vet at home the next day. He assured us that the treatment that was given was exactly what he would have done. This is a trip that we make frequently and its reassuring to know that there is a reliable vet office along the way.

    Sheryl H.   /   December 12, 2016

  • Great!

    Eileen J.   /   December 12, 2016

  • great care wonderful experiencenice people explained things wellhard to find the place

    lori w.   /   December 12, 2016

  • Compassion The vet and vet tech were very helpful in explaining what was going on with my dog as well as explaining what I should expect in the near future. They were very compassionate in explaining that my Abby is terminal, but were willing to help extend her life temporarily with anti-seizure medication. I am very grateful because Abby has had several wonderful days since our visit.

    Jennifer N.   /   December 1, 2016

  • First time patient, very pleased! I've had many many pets in my lifetime and experienced a plethora of different veterinarian offices. The staff at BVS was great, Dr. Antu (as I prefer to call him) was amazing as was the intern Kristin. Sadly my pet didn't receive good news, however the efficiency and care he received made the visit a pleasant experience.

    Andy N.   /   November 30, 2016

  • Knowledgeable I had to bring in my cat for emergency care over the weekend and the people there were very nice and knowledgeable. Even though they were very busy, and our visit was efficient, I still feel like they took the time to understand our cat's issue and get it resolved.

    Sandra B.   /   November 30, 2016

  • Excellent staff and care I had an emergency with my cat and was quite pleased with the personal care and attention we received. Everyone was very kind and explained all that was going on and what the options were for treatment. Thanks so much for the excellent care!

    Heather T.   /   November 30, 2016

  • The staff is fantastic and very careing The have been treating my dog as if she was their own. Great quality care, they are always available for questions and best of all I can go visit with my dog any time I wish.

    Bea M.   /   November 30, 2016

  • Friendly, caring, professional An excellent experience during difficult times. Would certainly recommend.

    Colin S.   /   November 30, 2016

  • Genuinely caring and knowledgeable treatment I am so pleased with how polite and helpful all the staff members were. They showed genuine care and concern about my dog. The vet was polite and patient. She answered my questions and took the time to explain everything to me. She interacted with my dog in order to make sure she was comfortable and wasn't scared. She actually got in the floor with my dog and got to know her. I will definitely take my dog back here again if something happens.

    Amelia C.   /   November 6, 2016

  • Job well done by all staff. Quick and efficient. Also very caring It was a hard decision for our family to put a sweet cocker spaniel to sleep. The staff was amazing in making us feel comfortable and making us feel like we were making the best decision for our girl. They are very compassionate and understanding. They also gave us all the time we needed to say our good byes

    Emily V.   /   November 6, 2016

  • Great personalized care with knowledgeable and caring staff! I brought in Kirk, my five month old kitten from Danville. Right away, the staff Began working with him. The vet, Dr. McMaine, was top notch and spent a long time discussing Kirk's injuries and treatment options. She was kind, caring and reassuring. I highly recommend Bluegrass Veterinary Service.

    I'm also happy to report that Kirk is doing great! Thank you!

    Jamie M.   /   November 4, 2016

  • Expert, compassionate care The staff and doctors were helpful in caring for my pet and providing clear advice and reassurance.

    John A.   /   November 4, 2016

  • Welcoming, loving and affordable Care My dog Jubilee had surgery at a Banfield Pet hospital that did not have any over night care as they closed at 7. But she still needed it it for two nights after her surgery. The first night we went there was the first night after her surgery she was loopy and groggy from her pain meds and because she was recovering from her surgery she couldn't walk. They came promptly to get her with a mobile table handled her gently and with caution of her incision. Asked to make sure that they knew where not to touch. The woman at the front desk was very polite and helpful with filing out papers and swiftly putting it in and getting us back to a room to be seen and talked to by the doctor on call that night. Things were explained very clearly to us with how she would be cared for. The next morning I had to go back and get her and take her back to Banfield and they were amazing with the transition between checking in to get her and bringing her out to me. For both nights and mornings they were exceptional and a real joy to see under the surcumstances. They were happy to see her go but sad to see her go at the same time. They treated us like a member of their family and treated my Jubilee like their own. BVS is am amazing. I would recommend them to EVERYONE.

    Chasitie M.   /   November 4, 2016

  • Efficent and caring service. Staff was very compassionate and knowledgeable. Wait time was very short, which we all appreciate when we have a sick pet.

    Sharon M.   /   November 4, 2016

  • Very pleased- will use again! They treated us with great care and concern. I feel they took great care of my puppy. I'm glad I know their location now and prices weren't as high as expected either.

    Stephanie J.   /   November 3, 2016

  • Very good job my second time there My second time and I already sent there my boss with her dog and my next door neighbor with her cat
    The compassion for the animals is great. Thank you again

    Anna C.   /   November 3, 2016

  • Trustworthy Dr. Antu is brilliant! He is not only very intelligent but very very nice and trustworthy. I feel very fortunate that my dog Lilu was able to be seen so quickly. I was visiting Kentucky from Iowa and I would drive the 7 1/2 hours - actually 9 with my dog to see this vet.

    Christa F.   /   November 3, 2016

  • Great! All the staff were wonderful and took such great care of my sweet kitty!

    Camille L.   /   November 2, 2016

  • I observed a professional business with a caring staff I brought my dog, Dozer, to BVS for an evaluation. While I was waiting to see the doctors the staff were very cordial to me and very comforting to Dozer. I observed returning clients with their pets and each were acknowledge by name and hugs. The doctors were patient and gentle with Dozer and were detailed in their explanation of what the next procedure would be and what it could do to help Dozer. I had a positive experience with the initial visit to BVS. I feel they will do a great job with Dozer's surgery.

    Etta N.   /   November 2, 2016

  • Very caring and very professional. It was my first visit, but was greeted as though we were old customers. I had to put my dog down and they showed a lot of compassion and understanding. They performed the process in a very professional and sympathetic manner.

    Jim C.   /   October 30, 2016

  • High quality service; friendly and efficient staff. Lexington is fortunate to have this quality veterinary service.

    Tom S.   /   October 28, 2016

  • Super nice, great value My dog was sick and they were so kind and thorough in their exam. VERY compassionate and understanding. Highly recommend! Thank you for all you do

    Tammy J.   /   October 26, 2016

  • I'm glad this service is available. I just wish it didn't take so long. Maybe another vet on staff would help.

    Pam B.   /   October 18, 2016

  • Quality care, great staff Our rescue, The Way Home Rescue Alliance, was very pleased with BVS. We have used them on several emergency cases, most recently with a puppy we rescued from an eastern rural KY shelter that had a seizure. They provided the critical care this pup need over the span of a weekend and she is now thriving. They kept me updated on her condition and progress during their stay there. They were easy to talk to, ask questions to, and were clear about the estimate and cost for services. They did an outstanding job and we are so thankful for their help with our rescue dogs!

    Sarah G.   /   October 13, 2016

  • Well done I sought them out because of sudden signs of pain from our dog, on a Sunday morning. They were very professional, gave the dog an excellent examination and were able to sort out the problem for us.

    John R.   /   September 30, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We greatly appreciate it!

  • Very professional and caring

    Brent C.   /   September 27, 2016

  • We are very pleased with your services! We have brought both our cocker spaniels to you in past two years. Buddy for seizure and then Crickett for her skin surgery and biopsy. Our pets are like children and we want the best for them . We trust you with their care

    Mary A.   /   September 25, 2016

  • Great job - friendly, supportive, knowledgable Recently we had to bring our 1 1/2 year old dog, Sassy, to the emergency vet (our local vet doesn't handle emergent situations). Bluegrass Vet took excellent care of our dog. She had to stay 2 nights. She was very well taken care of. We were able to call whenever we needed an update and we came to visit, too. Everyone was welcoming, caring, very mindful of the well-being of our fur baby, and so very kind. The doctors and technicians seemed very knowledgeable. They worked wonderfully with our local vet. The internal medicine portion of the practice is great, too. We are very pleased!

    Mona P.   /   September 7, 2016

  • Good experience The staff was very kind, caring, and compassionate. The vet was very knowledgeable and thorough.

    Crystal S.   /   August 24, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for your feedback. It helps evaluate how we are performing.

  • Complete trust in care given to my dogs I have two dogs who have been regular patients and also received emergency care at BVS. I have never had a bad experience. The 24-hour care is extremely important to me. I have called in the middle of the night for updates and it made all the difference in the world to me to get reassurance that all was well. The doctors are great and the vet techs and staff are very nice and professional.

    Kellye P.   /   August 23, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and opinion about our hospital and staff! We have the best patients and owners!

  • Super across the board! From the moment that we arrived until the moment we left, it was the most amazing experience that I've ever encountered with my dog, Millie. Dr. Antu and Dr. Quicksall were just terrific. All of the doctors and the entire staff were so kind and caring to Millie and myself. As soon as we got home, I started recommending BVS to my friends and will continue to do so whenever someone else needs your help. All of you are fantastic! Thank you so much!

    Donna E.   /   August 23, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for your feedback and positive recommendations! We greatly appreciate the opportunity to work for awesome clients and pets!

  • The Doctors are great! Very patient with all my questions and concerns. Took as much time as I needed for questions. So glad they are taking care of My Lacie...:)

    Pat C.   /   August 23, 2016

  • Great Job We thought we had lost our Luci. They took great care of her and in about a week she was back to normal running and playing.

    Carlos W.   /   August 22, 2016

  • Caring and thorough staff Wonderful and caring staff that goes above and beyond for their patients and families. Bumble and I traveled four hours to access their high-quality specialists, diagnostics and cutting-edge treatments. So much appreciated their dedication and expertise.

    Lynn C.   /   August 22, 2016

  • Excellent personalized care; saw results after just one visit; well worth the extra time and expense My dog had an ACL repair and was still not using her leg after several weeks. My regular vet recommended physical therapy with Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists. My dog was using her leg after just one session, and has continued improvement rapidly.

    Susan K.   /   August 19, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate the feedback and are VERY happy to hear that your sweet dog has experienced such wonderful improvement!

  • Staff was very friendly and helpful in a stressful situation.

    Denise H.   /   August 17, 2016

  • Amazing as always!!! Our entire family has used BVS on several occasions for different reasons. Whether it be an emergency in the wee hours of the morning or a needed surgical procedure. The staff at BVS has saved more than one, of our pets lives. All of their staff members are kind, friendly and very helpful. Our most recent visit was for our dog Sadee to have a surgical knee repair. Alex, Wendy, Dr. Daniel and Dr. Alford were amazing throughout the entire process. BVS is such a blessing and our entire family is so thankful for them! Highly recommended :-)

    Heather L.   /   August 9, 2016

  • Your vet clinic did a great job with the plasma transfusion on my 9-week-old puppy. You helped save her life and she is doing well today. Thanks. Dave Wash

    David W.   /   August 9, 2016

  • Excellent, kind, and compassionate care The doctors, technicians, and staff are competent, professional, and the most caring I've encountered. Being able to contact someone 24hrs/day to learn the condition of my cat was a huge relief and receiving daily follow-ups from his treating veterinarian gave me piece of mind that was priceless. If I need special care for another pet, I wouldn't think of using another facility and I would unreservedly recommend BVS to anyone.

    Lynda S.   /   August 8, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for this thoughtful and detailed review. It is very helpful and appreciated by our staff to know how they are performing. We are grateful to you for trusting us with your beautiful cat. THANK YOU!!

  • Excellent knowledgeable staff. Extremely attentive and sincere. Everyone was awesome and so kind

    Joy S.   /   August 8, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our hospital. Thank you very much for the review!

  • The staff at Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists were great. We took two of our dogs there. One will have to have surgery to remove a tumor and I feel that she will be in great hands.

    Jackie C.   /   August 8, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review!

  • Thank you Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists! About 2 years ago, my dog had got into chocolate. Weighing 20 pounds and eating more than half of the bag, I was sure if I didn't get him to the vet, he would die from eating so much chocolate as he did. After hearing my vet's answering machine, they said if it was an emergency, take him to Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists. They had took him back and gave him the best care, and I am very thankful for that. Since then, I am very careful of putting food away from Velcro. Thank you so much BVS for taking care of my best friend.

    Maridyth H.   /   August 5, 2016

  • All possibilities were discussed with the most probable acknowledged and agreed with to move forward. I came away feeling they focused on Maggie's well being and gave me great advice to help her get better. They were honest in their observations, but not overly dramatic and the least invasive measures were suggested to do first which gave me comfort.

    Renee M.   /   July 28, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you for your positive feedback. It is extremely important to our staff to know how they are performing.

  • Very professional! The doctors and staff were very professional. They explained every procedure and took great care of our dog.

    Robert A.   /   July 27, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Excellent communication is a priority for our staff. Thank you so much for your input and review. We are happy to hear to you and your dog had a great experience at our hospital.

  • Overall a very easy and pleasant experience. Staff was wonderful and everything was well explained Timely and friendly and overall a 5 star treatment facility

    Edith C.   /   July 27, 2016

    Response from Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate your high recommendation.

  • EXCELLENT CHOICE This is an excellent emergency veterinary service. The facility is clean, the staff is friendly and the vets are highly qualified and comprehensive in their treatment. We have taken two of our pets here and received prompt, high quality, affordable treatment. They are an excellent choice for emergency treatment for whatever ails your pet.

    Karen C.   /   Yelp   /   July 18, 2016

  • GREAT SERVICE, WONDERFUL VET I am extremely pleased w/ the treatment my dog is receiving at BVS. Dr. Antu is great. He always spends time w/ Katy and takes the time to explain everything to me and I really appreciate that. Rebecca, the OM has been very helpful to me also. My pets are my family and I feel that they are getting the very best care possible.

    Denise C.   /   July 16, 2016

  • PROFESSIONALS This place was full of professionals who really seemed to care about my dog, Pooch. I would recommend them to anybody, and I will never forget their kindness.

    Carla B.   /   Google+   /   July 9, 2016

  • VERY BEST CARE! The staff at BVS treat my dogs with the same love and compassion I have for them. Their veterinary skill and expertise are superb, giving me full confidence and comfort knowing my critter kids are getting the VERY best care. The staff are also very kind and supportive of me. 5 stars doesn't seem high enough.

    Cory B.   /   Google+   /   July 8, 2016

  • THANK YOU BGVS This is our second time for Oreo (Maine Coon) to be treated at BGVS and our experiences have been nothing but good. The staff and doctors are excellent and they make you feel part of a family. We were happy to see Melissa was still here after 2 years of our absence from needing treatment for Oreo as good employees are hard to find and keep. Thank you BGVS

    Donna H.   /   Google+   /   July 8, 2016

  • OUTSTANDING QUALITY OF CARE Bluegrass Veterinary specialists and animal emergency is outstanding in the quality of care that my dog has received, both in an emergency situation, and in specialty care. Wendy at the front desk is always so helpful, understanding and compassionate. Susan and Alex are also most helpful. Dr. Antu, Dr. Quicksall, and Dr. Alford have continued to provide excellent care for my dog through this complicated chronic illness. The doctors and staff truly care about both the animals and their owners!

    vm w.   /   Google+   /   July 8, 2016

  • THRILLED WITH THE CARE MY PUPPY RECEIVED I was so thrilled with the care my puppy received at BVS. Staff was just wonderful! Everyone from those in reception to Dr. Daniel was great. Dr. Daniel really took time to explain my options to me and answer all of my questions throughout the whole process. She kept me in the loop throughout his surgery and recovery. I am so thankful for the wonderful care that Dr. Daniel and the entire BVS staff gave to my dog. I could tell that everyone I encountered was a true animal lover. So many staff members stopped what they were doing to come love on my pup. I know he got stellar care and I will absolutely be taking him back if we need anything else in the future. If you're looking for a fantastic vet office, you found it!

    Elizabeth C.   /   Google+   /   July 1, 2016

  • AWESOME My dog SpongeBob had to go here the other night. Dr. Mulholland and nurse Swim were awesome!

    Heather H.   /   Google+   /   June 24, 2016

  • AMAZING STAFF Amazing staff and physicians at BVS who helped us through a very tough time when we had to make very difficult decisions regarding our Boston Terrier of 12 years Chloe. They diagnosed her with lymphoma and were very supportive, knowledgeable, and caring through the entire process. They provided her the best possible care. We will always be grateful for their kindness and loving care of our Chloe. Special thank you to Dr Radhkrishnan and Dr Alayna Alford.

    Jason S.   /   Google+   /   June 16, 2016

  • EXPERTISE and COMPASSION They are excellent! I was very impressed with their expertise and compassion for the animals and their families. Definitely recommend!

    Tony B.   /   Google+   /   June 16, 2016

  • HIGHLY DEDICATED INDIVIDUALS Bluegrass Veterinary Specialist + Animal Emergency is a team of highly dedicated individuals who care beyond measure for all of the animals who come into their hospital. In my time as a client, Dr. Edward, Katie the technician, and Jacob the Tech Assistant were so helpful with treating my pet. Alex, Amanda, Wendy, Susan, and Tammi were also so thoughtful at reception each time I called with a question or when I arrived at the clinic for treating my cat.

    Also during my time as a shadow at BVS+AE I have learned invaluable skills from all of the staff I have come into contact with including: Dr. Radhakrishnan, Dr. Basham, Dr. Daniel, Dr. Waldron, Dr. Gale-Dyer, Dr. Quicksall, Dr. Mulholland, Dr. Alford, Dr. Foley, Dr. McMaine, and Dr. Bowden.

    All of the technichicians have been instrumental in assisting the doctors in not only teaching me, but continuing to carry out the treatments which are so crucial to helping all of the animals that come in be comfortable during their treatment. Some of the most notable technicians that I have met at BVS who do and outstanding job are Melissa, Ashley, Ashlee, Christy, Jennifer, Puja, Erin, and Rebecca.

    These technicians also have a tremendous amount of help from students who were once in a position similar to mine as a shadow. These individuals are the tech assistants who have been instrumental in keeping BVS running smoothly on a daily basis. The assistants I can think of who have been the most helpful to me as a shadow and also to the technicians are Kelli, Bianca, Ainsley, Veronica, Zerina, Jessica, Summer, Niki, Lauren, Andy, and Pam.

    Finally, the shadows that BVS brings in are incredibly bright, and always willing to help out wherever needed during the hustle of the day. Some of the most dedicated shadows that I have crossed paths with are Victoria, Madison, Jason, Jasmine, Garrett, Anu, Ehren, Anna, and Tara.

    Ultimately all of the people listed are critical to the function of this top notch animal hospital. They not only offer the highest level of care and compassion for animals that I have ever seen, but they are an exemplary business which contributes greatly to the Lexington community.

    Kelly L.   /   Google+   /   June 15, 2016

  • BEST POSSIBLE CARE My dog received the best possible care at Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists. Every person was compassionate and caring for the circumstances. Unlike many other clinics, I did not feel as if I was being taken advantage of. I would highly recommend this clinic and the excellent doctors and staff.

    Mark K.   /   Google+   /   June 15, 2016

  • EMERGENCY EVERTED Just got back from BGVETS with my cat. Emergency everted! Thanks to Dr Basham and her team. Everyone was pleasant and friendly. Wait was not too long and damage to the pocketbook minimal compared to other veterinary ER visits I have had in past. GREAT Job Gals!

    Lauren A.   /   Google+   /   June 14, 2016

  • HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Highly recommended; staff promptly took vitals upon arrival and it was a short wait to be seen by the vet. Everyone was professional, friendly, and comforting. Dr. Basham was thorough in the diagnosis and treatment plan. The price was reasonable and fair. Very impressed.

    Sarah H.   /   Yelp   /   June 12, 2016

  • VERY IMPRESSED Highly recommended; staff promptly took vitals upon arrival and it was a short wait to be seen by the vet. Everyone was professional, friendly, and comforting. Dr. Basham was thorough in the diagnosis and treatment plan. The price was reasonable and fair. Very impressed.

    Sarah H.   /   Yelp   /   June 12, 2016

  • CARING and GENUINE Thank you so much in your efforts for treating Scout. I'm glad the we found people so caring and genuine in one of our greatest times of need.

    R Scott D.   /   Google+   /   June 11, 2016

  • UPMOST CARE Our cat, Fuzzy Cat, was referred to Bluegrass Vet Clinic due to severe illness. The staff was very friendly and caring while immediately putting a treatment plan in place. Unfortunately, Fuzzy Cat was diagnosed with feline leukemia. The doctor and staff were very caring and supportive during this emotional process. I would highly recommend this clinic due to the upmost care they show for your pet.

    Brittney B.   /   Yelp   /   June 4, 2016

  • THANKS FOR ALL YOU DO We deal with Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists on a daily basis and they have never failed to be compassionate, professional and caring. I would not hesitate to take my own pets there. Thanks for all you all do!!

    Heather T.   /   Google+   /   June 4, 2016

  • ALWAYS THERE FOR THEIR PATIENTS We were referred to BVS this past November for Jazzy to have her Portal shunt repaired. What a blessing this vet group is to our Jazzy during her followup! Both shifts and every person involved has made an impact on Jazzy's health. ALWAYS there for their patients. Thank you BVS! Would not trust her to any other.

    Deedra M.   /   Google+   /   May 26, 2016

  • MY GO TO PLACE WHEN I HAVE AN EMERGENCY This is my go to place when I have an emergency. I have four dogs and two cats. Natosha has seen three of my four dogs and she is always reassuring when I have brought them in. I recommend this place to everyone that might need to take their fur baby in when their regular vet is unavailable.

    Dottie J.   /   Google+   /   May 25, 2016

  • THANKS GUYS! =) Had an emergency late into the night Sunday and my vet in Frankfort (where we live) was sick herself, so she called ahead to BVS to tell them we were coming. Once we got there, the night shift staff were awesome! We had to leave our boy there overnight for them to keep an eye on him and treat him if necessary - so my husband stayed up all night and called regularly to make sure he was doing okay. They were very accommodating and sweet to him, which I greatly appreciate. Overall, a great customer service experience - and our boy is like new after a little extra care.

    Thanks, guys! =)

    avyquinn .   /   Google+   /   May 18, 2016

  • BLESSED BY THE CARE I have been so blessed by the care and attention the staff at BVS has given my Lily (a beagle) before/during/and after her recent back surgery. The staff and Dr. Daniel have been so patient with me as I've worked to understand the diagnosis and what that means for Lily. They all take time to talk to me and answer all of my questions. I get a daily call with updates and they've made time to let me come in to visit Lily during her post-op recovery. I've told every pet owner I know that BVS is the place to go when the unexpected happens.

    Angie G.   /   Google+   /   May 8, 2016

  • SUPER KIND These people are really there for your pets! Super kind and treat your pet very nicely.
    My 2 yo black Labrador swallowed a silicone baking cup-WHOLE-one evening and I called our local vet (I live in Pikeville, Ky). They told me to watch him and bring him in the next morning. After X-rays it was determined to do an endoscopy with a specialist. I was referred to the Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists in Lexington Ky. Every staff member was very nice to us...even when my dog Jet peed in the floor. They treated him as if he was their own. We had a bit of a bumpy ride...it looked as if the baking cup was moving..so surgery now looked like the only option. Then it was determined it didn't move. Induced vomiting didn't work so the endoscopy was performed and was successful. I felt like they really loved Jet and that he was well cared for. Hopefully there won't be another time--but if there is we will be coming back to this place!

    Brittany C.   /   Google+   /   May 5, 2016

  • KINDNESS AND CARE The associates at BVS helped me through a very tough time when I had to make a very difficult decision about the care of my senior dog, Annie. They were very supportive and very caring through the entire process and provided the best possible care for my baby. Since that time, I've used their ER services on two different occasions and have never been disappointed with the quality of care and level of compassion. The availibility of their expertise provides me great peace of mind. I will always remain grateful for the kindness and care exhibited by the staff.

    Julie C.   /   Google+   /   April 28, 2016

  • HIGHLY COMPETENT I took my Shih Tzu to BVS after he ingested toxic flowers and became ill. So glad they're available 24/7. The staff was very thorough, kind, and highly competent. They are definitely my clinic of choice for emergencies and advanced care.

    Diane H.   /   Google+   /   April 23, 2016

  • SPECIALIZED CARE CLOSE TO HOME Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists has treated two of my dogs and all of the staff were kind and caring. Dr. Radhakrishnan is a wonderful vet and explored different options for treatment. So great to have this kind of specialized care close to home.

    Josie F.   /   Google+   /   April 23, 2016

  • DEFINITELY RECOMMEND Bluegrass Veterinary Services and Emergency Care has been great! When my dog broke her leg, they were they for us and have been helping us along the way! They seem to genuinely care for your pet and do what they can to make sure they are comfortable!
    When they put the splint on my puppy, Dr. Daniels even make cute designs on it. She has been great to work with! They also are more affordable then some of the other emergency cares that I have been to in the past who just seem to push you out the door and charge you a lot. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

    Isaac W.   /   Google+   /   April 21, 2016

  • EXCEPTIONAL I have used this clinic twice for very difficult cases and I will NEVER go ANYWHERE ELSE!!! They are exceptional!

    Kitty L.   /   Google+   /   April 18, 2016

  • OUTSTANDING CARE Outstanding care-- I've had to leave my dog overnight several times and I know he is so well taken care of. Every doctor does such a good job of explaining to me what is going on so there's no confusion. Great about keeping you updated, give wonderful instructions and information when you leave. I have taken him for regular consultations and emergency care and we have both been treated so well by every staff member. I appreciate that they take your budget into account and will work with you to do what you can do- no judgement. Recommend extremely highly.

    Madalyn C.   /   Google+   /   April 13, 2016

  • BVS IS WONDERFUL BVS is wonderful! They have provided exceptional care for two of our dogs over the last few years; outstanding service to both our pets and kind support for us. I highly recommend BVS for emergency care as well as chronic or complicated illness.
    All of the staff were compassionate and considerate. Dr. Radhakrishnan is a super vet and a truly nice guy!

    RK G.   /   Google+   /   April 6, 2016

  • BEST CARE POSSIBLE We had a very good experience at Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists with our dog. They were genuinely concerned with giving our dog the best care possible and were very up-front about the cost, etc. I would highly recommend them!

    Lisa W.   /   Google+   /   April 3, 2016

  • RECEIVED EXCELLENT CARE Great experience during a difficult time. Everyone at BVS was wonderful and caring and we received excellent care.

    Fran S.   /   Google+   /   April 2, 2016

  • WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE This place is great! I had been to one other emergency care clinic in the past when my cat couldn't stop vommiting; it was a horrible experience. BVS was SO much better and they had some of the most friendliest staff members! The Vet went above and beyond when it came to giving us an explanation of why our cat was sick. She spent a great deal of her time making sure we covered all of the possible causes and treated our cat like a medical doctor would treat our child! Would recommend to anyone. Very pleased!

    BB S.   /   Google+   /   March 29, 2016

  • FOREVER GRATEFUL So kind, caring, and compassionate! Without all of the wonderful staff at BVS, I wouldn't have my little dog Rayne! I am forever grateful for all of the late nights they spent with her and the countless phone calls I have made to them during her recovery process. They really are the best!

    Miranda G.   /   Google+   /   March 25, 2016

  • GRATEFUL My dog was referred to Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists due to chronic illness. The staff is friendly and most helpful. The veterinarian specialists that we see there are amazing! Dr. Radhakrisnan has worked with my dog and has completely improved her quality of life! Dr. Alford has patiently answered all my questions and calmed my fears many times. Dr. Mulholland saw my dog about related issues. She is compassionate about animals and helped me understand the circumstances and treatment. I am grateful to have these doctors and staff caring for my dog through this illness. When I place a call to Bluegrass Veterinary Specialist, the call is always returned, and questions answered. They care, both about the pet, and the owner.

    Zoe W.   /   Google+   /   March 12, 2016

  • KNOWLEDGABLE and EMPATHETIC These guys are THE BEST! Knowledgable and empathetic. Thank you!

    Liz U.   /   Google+   /   March 7, 2016

  • FRIENDLY and KNOWLEDGABLE I love this clinic! So friendly and knowledgable, and the veterinarians genuinely care about their patients, clients and staff.

    Marie N.   /   Google+   /   March 2, 2016

  • SUCH AN AMAZING STAFF Such an amazing staff! I had to make the difficult decision to let my 15 year old baby, Cameron, cross the rainbow bridge. These wonderful people helped make this overwhelming situation as comforting as it could be. I thank God for this professional and caring team.

    Genea P.   /   Google+   /   February 4, 2016

  • COMPASSION and CARE We just lost our sweet baby and I cannot express how much we appreciate the compassion and care our baby was given, as well as ourselves, during this hard time. Bluegrass veterinary clinic made it a lot easier than I feel it would've been elsewhere

    Tiffany S.   /   Google+   /   December 14, 2015

  • I WOULDN'T GO ANYWHERE ELSE My dog was transferred to a higher level of care from my vet to BVS. He stayed for a couple of weeks and Dr. Antu and his staff, their knowledge and attentive nursing care are the reasons my dog lived. In an emergency, I wouldnt go anywhere else.

    Vivian H.   /   Google+   /   November 20, 2015

  • PLACE IS AMAZING This place is amazing. My pup had to stay overnight due to eating chocolate covered espresso beans. The staff was so friendly and understood that they were taking care of my baby. They told me to call as much as I wanted. I only called 3 times but each time they were sweet and gave me great updates. I hope we never have to go back for obvious reasons but if the need came up we would go back to them in a heartbeat!

    Nicole W.   /   Google+   /   November 17, 2015

  • NICE & PROFESSIONAL I had to rush my little dog late at night recently after he got very sick. The wait was very reasonable. The doctor and staff was very nice and professional. The waiting room is nice and good size with complimentary coffee/snacks. My dog was treated and is OK! They reported my visit to my regular vet and I was called the next day to be asked how he was doing. I recommend!!

    Leann R.   /   Yelp   /   November 7, 2015

  • HIGHLY COMPASSIONATE Very caring, concerned staff. Highly compassionate. Gave me options and concerned about health of my pet and concerned about my opinion and comfort about plan.

    Camille I.   /   Google+   /   September 29, 2015

  • COMPASSIONATE & CARING STAFF I was pleased to discover this office was populated with compassionate and caring staff, from the front desk, the vet techs, the emergency vets and the internal medicine specialists. I was impressed with the way they shared the charges for all options, gave us all the time we needed to decide about treatment for our very ill older dog, and explained their findings. I would recommend the office without hesitation. They were able to perform a specialized ultrasound so we could get a much more detailed picture of what was going on with our dog prior to deciding whether to put him through the ordeal of surgery.

    Elizabeth N.   /   Google+   /   September 18, 2015

  • COMPASSIONATE and CARING STAFF I was pleased to discover this office was populated with compassionate and caring staff, from the front desk, the vet techs, the emergency vets and the internal medicine specialists. I was impressed with the way they shared the charges for all options, gave us all the time we needed to decide about treatment for our very ill older dog, and explained their findings. I would recommend the office without hesitation. They were able to perform a specialized ultrasound so we could get a much more detailed picture of what was going on with our dog prior to deciding whether to put him through the ordeal of surgery.

    Elizabeth N.   /   Google+   /   September 10, 2015

  • WILL EXCEED YOUR EXPECTATIONS It is a great comfort to know that Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists is available for both specialty care and emergency services. Dr. Radhakrishan and staff provide an outstanding level of care. Over the Labor Day holiday my diabetic dog started having seizure like symptoms. We rushed her to the emergency clinic. It turns out that her glucose was too low. They worked with her to get it regulated and have since worked with us and our veterinarian to monitor it through occasional glucose curves. I knew to expect great service from the experience we had when they saved the life of our foster puppy Bernie. Through round the clock care they pulled him through a bout of Parvo. Bernie now lives happily with a forever family in Ohio. If you are looking for outstanding service from a dedicated staff look no further. Bluegrass Veterinarian Specialists will exceed your expectations! What a blessing they have been to me and my fur babies!

    Shawn R.   /   Google+   /   July 12, 2015

  • TOTALLY AWESOME The doctors and staff at the Bluegrass are totally AWESOME! Very caring, and competent folks. They knew exactly what should be done and explained everything so I clearly. Reviewed the tests and x-ray results and lined out a course of treatment. Another thing I liked was they were right up front about the costs. I really appreciated that. The other thing was they wanted us to understand that if the time should come that it is effecting the quality of life "Jade" would have then it would be time to discuss another option for her best interest. I liked that they let us know with a mass cell cancer there are a lot of options but when they all run out and she is suffering then it is time to decide what is best for her. We would highly recommend them to anyone with any animal that needs Veterinary help!!!

    Laura P.   /   Google+   /   July 5, 2015

  • COMPASSIONATE & UNDERSTANDING These people are extremely compassionate and understanding. They helped make a difficult situation much more bearable. I would recommend them without reservation.

    Linda B.   /   Google+   /   July 3, 2015

  • EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR EMERGENCY SERVICES I complete agree with Karen. Very clean, very nice front desk staff, very friendly staff, very knowledgable and thorough. Dr. Gale-Dyer Was amazing to my dog and I. The staff made me feel very comfortable with my decisions I made in regards to my dog and explained all options, estimates and fees. Excellent choice for emergency services.

    Megan L.   /   Yelp   /   March 22, 2015

  • HIGHLY RECOMMEND Was very pleased with services provided by Dr.'s, Staff and facility. Everyone we meet and worked with us was caring, helpful and very nice. We have used this Veterinary Specialist three (3) times with three (3) different cats. Good results with two (2) of them they are doing ok with the problem they have. We still have them and are happy that we found help with major problems. Sadly we lost one precious cat with a fast acting cancer in his mouth, but we did all that could have been done to save him. Would highly recommend these people in caring for beloved pets of any kind.

    Sandra S.   /   Google+   /   July 30, 2014

  • STAFF DESERVES TO BE RECOGNIZED Nothing but good things to say about the staff and physicians. Took my 12 year old German Shepherd in one evening who was exhibiting signs of gastric tortion = GDV (bloat/volulous). Within 45 mins Dr Daniel was in and performing surgery to correct the problem.

    The entire staff deserves to be recognized for the great job they did
    - The technicians who watched over him before and the days following his surgery
    - Dr Hastings who was the on-call vet who made the original diagnosis
    - Dr Daniel who performed the surgery
    I am sure not everyone's outcome is perfect, but mine was and I wouldnt hesitate to trust the staff at BVS to take care of my pet in the best possible way

    Frederick J.   /   Google+   /   July 25, 2014

  • CARING & KNOWLEDGEABLE They helped us through a very stressful and heartbreaking experience. Everyone was so caring and knowledgeable. We were given the information we needed and they supported our decisions. Would highly recommend them!!!

    Bill P.   /   Google+   /   July 23, 2014

  • DR. RADHAKRISHNAN and STAFF ARE WONDERFUL Bluegrass Veterinary Specialist is a great addition to the Lexington market. In years past, if you needed a specialist for your dog or cat you had to travel to Louisville or Cincinnati or even farther. Dr. Radhakrishnan and his staff are wonderful. They genuinely care for the well being of your treasured furry family members. I love the fact that they are also another after hour emergency option for me that is very close to home and can accommodate any budget.

    Gina S.   /   Google+   /   July 22, 2014

  • BEST TREATMENT POSSIBLE We have been using BVS for three years for specialist treatment and when needed 24 hour emergency care. I cannot say enough positive about my dog's experience and excellent treatment he receives. Dr. Antu and his staff are all wonderful. Once you enter their facility, you are greeted by warm staff who readily address your concerns. All staff are professional and are committed to offering your pet the best treatment possible. In addition, their love for animals is so obvious that you know immediately that you and your pet will receive treatment with love and dignity. All staff are compassionate about their work. We are very fortunate to have them here in Lexington. I highly recommend them. Check them out. You will be pleased and most fortunate that you did.

    Genie M.   /   Google+   /   July 19, 2014

  • CALIBER OF CARE I was referred to BVS for my dog's emergency surgery after our regular vet diagnosed her with a gastric blockage. Dr. Sarah Daniel and the staff at BVS quite literally saved my girl and I will be forever grateful. Dr. Daniel operated on Riley in the middle of the night and kept me updated during her hospitalization. After I brought Riley home, Dr. Daniel kept in close contact with us via email and answered all of my questions. Riley did so well and recovered fully. I cannot say enough good things about the amazing emergency care and specialty services BVS provides. Of course I would have paid any price, and having worked at an animal hospital previously I know how expensive this kind of treatment can be, but I thought the charges were very very reasonable and less than I was expecting for that caliber of care.

    Jami B.   /   Google+   /   July 17, 2014

  • ACCOMMODATING and KNOWLEDGABLE I had an excellent experience here, and am extremely glad to know that they also provide emergency care. In my opinion the options for that particular service are pretty slim in Lexington. The vet and staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable, answered all my questions, and were generally great. I highly recommend BVS and will experience no hesitation should I need to bring one of my animals here in the future. They are super!!!

    Marjorie S.   /   Google+   /   July 14, 2014

  • HONEST The doctors and staff here took great care of my cocker spaniel Buck. We made an appt because of a cough that wouldn't go away. The vet took great care of him, told us what she thought we should do, and was honest about the prices of things and whether we needed to do extra tests or not. She didn't think he needed an x-ray and that saved us money. Point being, they are not trying to run a bunch of tests and make money, they just want your animal to get better :) Love this place, and would definitely go back. Buck was better in 2-3 days, he thanks them too!

    Kim H.   /   Google+   /   July 10, 2014

  • GREAT VETS Have used them several times. I was amazed at the great, thorough treatment our dog received. And I thought the charges were very reasonable as well. Great vets!!!

    Gayle S.   /   Google+   /   July 5, 2014

  • BVS WAS THERE FOR US BVS was there for us when our dog had an emergency with her eye. Pressure had built up and she was in extreme pain. The staff and doctors were excellent with her as well as understanding of our anxiety. I have recommended that all my friends keep their number handy for emergencies.

    Sherri M.   /   Google+   /   July 2, 2014

  • TRUE LOVE OF ANIMALS With two chronically ill senior dogs (one with bladder cancer and the other with Cushings Disease), we found ourselves in need of both an Internal Medicine specialist and repeated access to emergency services. Not only was the medical expertise unparalleled, but the compassion, patience, and true love of animals was exemplary. We felt comforted knowing that Dr. Antu and his staff were in this with us. It has got to be very hard for animal lovers to regularly see our babies and us suffer. I don't know how they do it. Finally, we were always given options that balanced the expense, quality of life, and best possible outcome at every turn. I have recommended Dr. Antu repeatedly and will continue to do so.

    Vicki S.   /   Google+   /   June 17, 2014

  • EMPATHETIC & CARING I would highly recommend this vet clinic to anyone in need of emergency care for their pet. Everyone I interacted with showed me and my dog such kindness. They were empathetic, explained everything that was going on and despite the concern I had for Bailey's health, I felt that she was in good hands and with people who genuinely cared for her.

    Lynn S.   /   Google+   /   June 2, 2014

  • AMAZING PLACE Been there twice, once for my dog, and once for my cat. Amazing place, has great doctors who specialize in medical areas adding another dimension to vet care for my furry babies. When there is a special need beyond ordinary vet care, this is the place. 5 stars in my book.

    Patricia F.   /   Google+   /   May 31, 2014

  • RECOMMEND BVS TO ANY PET OWNER Took my 12 year old German Shepherd who was in considerable discomfort (retching , disoriented). When I arrived the technician wasted no time in getting him back for an x-ray. After 5-10 mins, Dr Molly Hastings entered the exam room and introduced herself and calmly explained to me the situation and options available. The surgeon was immediatley paged and within 30 mins had arrived. I was allowed to go back and see my dog or a few mins before the surgeon arrived and he was really miserable...I could tell he was very close to going into total shock. Dr Hastings and the staff did an excellent job in stabilizing him. Throughout the operation (~2hrs) Dr Hastings came out to give me updates. When it was over, Dr Sarah Daniel came out and gave me the best news possible. She was very helpful throughout his entire recovery process and even sent pictures of him during his 2 day hospital stay. The entire staff was very accomodating. When I say "entire staff", I really mean the entire staff. I would like everyone who was working that night to know that they all performed admirably and should be indiviually recognized for a job very well done. Never once did I feel that my dog wasn't the most important patient to them. While I'm sure not every outcome is as good as mine was, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend BVS to any pet owner faced with the same situation.

    Frederick J.   /   Google+   /   May 15, 2014

  • COMPASSIONATE & SKILLED CARE BVS has provided excellent care to both of my dogs who required emergency care. They were available at all hours (day or night) to answer questions and provide updates. Both of my dogs had full recoveries after their compassionate and skilled care.

    Caroline F.   /   Google+   /   April 9, 2014

  • CARING & PROFESSIONAL The staff at Bluegrass Veterinary Specialist are caring and professional. I have taken my pets there several times and they are wonderful. I recommend them highly.

    Shannon S.   /   Google+   /   April 6, 2014

  • CARING & UNDERSTANDING The staff are caring, understanding and thorough. I would return here for any emergency with my dog (though hopefully not necessary)!

    Wes W.   /   Google+   /   February 19, 2014

  • CARING & KNOWLEDGEABLE Bottom Line: Staff was friendly, caring, and knowledgeable. They kept us well informed of pricing, results, and plans. In line with other emergency vet costs. I would definitely recommend this vet to a friend who's pet needed emergency care!

    One night around 8, our dog became acutely lethargic and couldn't walk because she was stumbling. Our regular vet was closed so we went ahead and googled for an emergency vet in Lexington. Bluegrass Veterinary Specialists was the first result that popped up, and boy were we glad that we went there! When we called, they were professional and asked thoughtful questions about what was going on so that we didn't come in for something that was not an emergency. When we got there they were very friendly, and they promptly examined our dog, came up with a differential, and formed a plan of action for taking care of her. They also gave us an up-front estimate of the cost of the visit which did not change when it was time to pay the bill the next day.

    The staff was all very friendly, and they seemed to genuinely care about us and our pet's well-being. They were great about keeping a close eye on our pet and keeping us informed on what they were doing, what the test results were, and what the plan of action was. The vet herself even called us at 4 AM after admitting our pet to let us know that more tests had come in and that our dog was improving. When we picked her up the next morning, the morning staff was still well-informed about what had gone on with our dog even though they hadn't seen her at admission. To me this pointed to very good continuity of care and handovers with genuine concern for the animals that they are taking care of.

    As for money, when they planned to perform tests or admit our dog, they always brought in estimates of the cost of the visit which was thoroughly itemized with no phantom costs. They charge a flat $80 emergency visit fee, and then add on procedures, tests, and medication costs to that. The costs for an overnight stay with a fair number of lab tests and overnight IV fluids was around $600. While this is not cheap, I feel that it is in line with what you might spend at any emergency vet for such an acute illness, and I felt that it was worth the money for the great care they provided my pet. This burden would have been much less had we had the foresight to have pet insurance, but it wasn't so unreasonable that we felt like we had been ripped off or anything.

    Ryan M.   /   Google+   /   May 16, 2013